Leaving is the hardest part.

With alarming speed the end of my time in Leadville has arrived, and with it, the end of my year sojourning in the US.  Mixed feelings abound; I happy that I will be reunited with friends and family, but I certainly do not want to leave this place.  And by ‘this place’ I mean Colorado, and the Rocky Mountains.  Life here has been simple and wonderful.  Work that I enjoy, spending time with new friends, jaw dropping scenery, and spending more time outdoors than I have ever had the opportunity to do before has made me very happy indeed.

Interning at The National Mining Hall of Fame and Museum has given me a breadth of experience it would be hard to gain elsewhere.  The wonderfully supportive and knowledgable staff have given us interns small(ish) discrete projects that have really allowed us to take ownership of our own learning, and undertake a range of curatorial duties.  I cannot thank the museum enough for giving me this opportunity, and taking a chance on an international student, which many are not wont to do.  As often is the case one opportunity leads to more.  For me this means that I have been lucky enough to secure a job (after a 4am Skype interview!) that I will begin upon my return to Scotland.

Aside from work, in Colorado I have been able to try a lot of new things, including climbing a mountain (the 14th highest in the US), white water rafting through Brown’s Canyon, and a tonne of hiking!  I think I have learned to strike a greater life/work/exercise balance here; hopefully this will stand me in good stead for the future.

Hagerman's Pass covered in wild flowers

Hagerman’s Pass covered in wild flowers

Mt Elbert, 14, 433ft

Mt Elbert, 14, 433ft

Leadville scenery

Leadville scenery

Currently listening to:  Aerosmith – Sweet Emotion.

Leave a comment